|
North American Network Operators Group Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical Re: New depths in phishing
On 3/24/06, Lucy E. Lynch <llynch@darkwing.uoregon.edu> wrote: > > edu skimming - try http://umich.edu.com/ > edu.com is quite old as far as domains go... but its not really a phisher as far as i can see - its a purveyor of "online diplomas" from assorted universities, and some obvious diploma mills (including those of the spamming variety, such as the University of Phoenix) www.imamoron.edu.com works as well .. by the way Registrant: Vantage Media Corporation 1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203 Venice, California 90291 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com Domain Name: EDU.COM Created on: 24-Nov-98 Expires on: 23-Nov-10 Last Updated on: 14-Jun-05 Administrative Contact: Administrator, Domain domainadmin@vantagemedia.com Vantage Media Corporation 1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203 Venice, California 90291 United States 3104823737 Fax -- Technical Contact: Administrator, Domain domainadmin@vantagemedia.com Vantage Media Corporation 1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203 Venice, California 90291 United States 3104823737 Fax -- Domain servers in listed order: PDNS1.ULTRADNS.NET PDNS2.ULTRADNS.NET PDNS3.ULTRADNS.ORG PDNS4.ULTRADNS.ORG PDNS5.ULTRADNS.INFO PDNS6.ULTRADNS.CO.UK > nice! > > -- > Lucy E. Lynch Academic User Services > Computing Center University of Oregon > llynch @darkwing.uoregon.edu (541) 346-1774 > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------- > Date: Thu, 23 Mar 2006 12:37:24 -0800 > From: David Lundy <dlundy@pacific.edu> > Reply-To: UNIversity Security Operations Group <unisog@lists.sans.org> > To: unisog@lists.sans.org > Subject: Re: [unisog] Problems with EDU.COM domain > > It looks like a wild card. Things like zzz.edu.com resolve. > > David Lundy > Acting IT Security Officer > University of the Pacific > > >>> YorkJ@brcc.edu 03/23/06 11:09 AM >>> > Wow, even lowly community colleges are listed in the phishing sites > edu.com. They must have copied the entire .edu domain. I just called > Educause (.edu registrar) to let them know about it--the lady I talked > to hadn't seen it yet, but promised to send the info to their > management. > Thanks > John > > John York > Network Engineer > Blue Ridge Community College > > > _______________________________________________ > unisog mailing list > unisog@lists.sans.org > http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/unisog > _______________________________________________ > unisog mailing list > unisog@lists.sans.org > http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/unisog > -- Suresh Ramasubramanian (ops.lists@gmail.com)
|