North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
Re: New depths in phishing
- From: Lucy E. Lynch
- Date: Fri Mar 24 10:05:44 2006
On Fri, 24 Mar 2006, Suresh Ramasubramanian wrote:
On 3/24/06, Lucy E. Lynch <llynch@darkwing.uoregon.edu> wrote:
edu skimming - try http://umich.edu.com/
edu.com is quite old as far as domains go... but its not really a
phisher as far as i can see - its a purveyor of "online diplomas" from
assorted universities, and some obvious diploma mills (including
those of the spamming variety, such as the University of Phoenix)
and collecting information from students interested in enrolling
at umich...
www.imamoron.edu.com works as well .. by the way
Registrant:
Vantage Media Corporation
1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203
Venice, California 90291
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: EDU.COM
Created on: 24-Nov-98
Expires on: 23-Nov-10
Last Updated on: 14-Jun-05
Administrative Contact:
Administrator, Domain domainadmin@vantagemedia.com
Vantage Media Corporation
1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203
Venice, California 90291
United States
3104823737 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Administrator, Domain domainadmin@vantagemedia.com
Vantage Media Corporation
1350 Abbot Kinney Blvd #203
Venice, California 90291
United States
3104823737 Fax --
Domain servers in listed order:
PDNS1.ULTRADNS.NET
PDNS2.ULTRADNS.NET
PDNS3.ULTRADNS.ORG
PDNS4.ULTRADNS.ORG
PDNS5.ULTRADNS.INFO
PDNS6.ULTRADNS.CO.UK
nice!
--
Lucy E. Lynch Academic User Services
Computing Center University of Oregon
llynch @darkwing.uoregon.edu (541) 346-1774
---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 23 Mar 2006 12:37:24 -0800
From: David Lundy <dlundy@pacific.edu>
Reply-To: UNIversity Security Operations Group <unisog@lists.sans.org>
To: unisog@lists.sans.org
Subject: Re: [unisog] Problems with EDU.COM domain
It looks like a wild card. Things like zzz.edu.com resolve.
David Lundy
Acting IT Security Officer
University of the Pacific
YorkJ@brcc.edu 03/23/06 11:09 AM >>>
Wow, even lowly community colleges are listed in the phishing sites
edu.com. They must have copied the entire .edu domain. I just called
Educause (.edu registrar) to let them know about it--the lady I talked
to hadn't seen it yet, but promised to send the info to their
management.
Thanks
John
John York
Network Engineer
Blue Ridge Community College
_______________________________________________
unisog mailing list
unisog@lists.sans.org
http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/unisog
_______________________________________________
unisog mailing list
unisog@lists.sans.org
http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/unisog
--
Suresh Ramasubramanian (ops.lists@gmail.com)
--
Lucy E. Lynch Academic User Services
Computing Center University of Oregon
llynch @darkwing.uoregon.edu (541) 346-1774
|